day.fifty.one.

DSC_0030

my dad. as soon as i got off the phone with my mom tonight i found the photo albums shoved in the back of my son’s bedroom closet. i was looking for a photo i know i have seen before of him holding me as an infant. i forever hold that image in my head when i think of him. a dad who holds me close and simply loves me. in my search i couldn’t find that photo, but several others, including the one posted above. a family posing one easter morning in bennington, vermont.  (that’s me in the pink three piece suit) my dad on the far left. mom must have taken the photo.

my dad. tonight, i found myself having a repeat conversation with my mom. dad’s in the hospital. again. he’s not a sickly man, but just getting old, i suppose.  three years ago it was a brain aneurism. last year it was a quadruple bypass. tonight i hear words like high white blood cell count….leukemia….bone marrow biopsy…chemotherapy.  but nothing determined until tests are done. mom passed the phone to my dad and neither of us could get as much as a ‘happy thanksgiving’ muttered. i think we were both trying not to cry. the man that held his infant daughter with such tenderness. i want him here, now.

our GOD who heals, please heal. our GOD who hears, listen. do not let this be what we fear it may be. administer your mercy.

Tagged , , , ,

6 thoughts on “day.fifty.one.

  1. Gene Call says:

    Your Dad is a great example of the kind of person Christ wants us to be!

  2. David Pinckney says:

    praying with you for your dad. I cherish him as a role model and friend.

  3. Rena Forrester says:

    He was in my prayers at 2 AM this morning and will continue to be praying.

  4. Coral Nieder says:

    Your Dad is an awesome guy !!! I have known him since First Baptist Days and he also was my Dentist. He will certainly be in my prayers !! Please let him know that I am thinking of him !!

  5. Anne Marquis Fujimura says:

    I was just looking at pictures of our wedding with JP and Joy Potter as our ring bearer and flower girls. JP didn’t want to go down the isle with Joy because she told him that they were getting married and he was having none of that! So much love and prayers for you all and healing for Mark!

  6. […] full moon rising on the eve of thanksgiving and bittersweet anniversary of this.  there really is nothing sweet about your father contracting a disease that would take his life […]

Leave a Reply

